Corporate Governance

Management Board

Jeremy Hodara

Jeremy Hodara

Co-Founder & CEO

Jeremy co-founded our company in 2012, and has been serving as our co-CEO since that time. Prior to founding Jumia, Jeremy worked as an engagement manager at McKinsey and Company from 2006 to 2012, where he specialized in retail and e-commerce consulting. He earned a master’s degree in business management from the HEC School of Management in Paris, France

Sacha Poignonnec

Sacha Poignonnec

Co-Founder & CEO

Sacha co-founded our company in 2012, and has been serving as our co-CEO since that time. Prior to founding Jumia, Sacha worked as an associate partner at McKinsey and Company where he developed an expertise in the packaged goods and retail sectors. He was previously a manager at Aon Accuracy and an associate at Ernst & Young. Sacha holds a master’s degree in finance from the EDHEC Business School in France.

Supervisory Board

Gilles is the chief executive officer of EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Asia) and LATAM (Latin America) at Pernod-Ricard SA, a role he has held since July 1, 2018. Previously, he served in several other management positions at PernodRicard SA over the last two decades, including as Group CFO from July 2009 to July 2018. He is a graduate of the ESCP Business School.

Andre is an NBA basketball player for the three-time NBA Champions Golden State Warriors. In 2015, Mr. Iguodala received the NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award. He was an NBA All-Star in 2012 and has been named to the NBA All-Defensive Team twice. Mr. Iguodala was also a member of the United States national team at the 2010 FIBA World Championship and 2012 Summer Olympics, winning the gold medal both times. Since joining the Warriors in 2013, he has become deeply engaged with the Bay Area media and technology communities and to date has invested in over 40 companies through F9 Strategies, including GOAT, Zoom, Lime, Walker & Co., Thrive Global, AllBirds, Casper, STANCE and Carta. Mr. Iguodala has partnered with Bloomberg on the creation of The Players Technology Summit which convenes top executives and leaders in the technology, venture capital and sports communities to exchange ideas and share expertise in an educational and empowering forum. He attended the University of Arizona before declaring for the 2004 NBA Draft following his sophomore year.

Blaise is the founder of VillageReach and the Resilience Trust. He served as executive director at the International Telecommunication Union, founder and president of the Nelson Mandela Foundation USA, co-head of global development initiative at Google, director of international business development at Teledesic, regional managing director at AT&T, and senior consultant at Accenture. Judja-Sato earned an MBA from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. He holds a Master of Science in engineering from Telecom ParisTech and a master’s degree in mathematics from the University of Montpellier.

Jonathan is the Chairman of our Supervisory Board. He is a co-founder of Getty Images and served as the chief executive officer of Getty Images for over 20 years, prior to becoming its chairman in 2015 and his current service as its deputy chairman. Mr. Klein currently serves as a member of the board of directors for several other institutions including Squarespace, Etsy, Helix Sleep, Grassroot Soccer, and the Committee to Protect Journalists. Additionally, Mr. Klein serves as chairman of the board for Friends of the Global Fight Against AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria and president of the board of Groton School. Mr. Klein also serves as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. Mr. Klein received his master’s degree in law from the University of Cambridge.

Angela is a co-founder of Evergreen Wealth Management at UBS Private Wealth Management. She serves on UBS’ Sustainable Investing Advisory Council and on the boards of One Community, Global Health Alliance, Grassroot Soccer, Beespace, Grace Farms Foundation and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. Ms. Mwanza is a leader in the field of private wealth management and was named one of the “46 Leaders in Sustainable Investing” by Forbes in 2018. She holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Cornell University and both a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in linguistics from the University of Konstanz in Germany.

Alioune is the chief executive officer of Orange Middle East and Africa. Prior to this role, he served as the chief executive officer of Orange Mali from 2002 to 2012 and, from 2012 to 2018, as the chief executive officer of Sonatel. Mr. Ndiaye studied Telecom management and finance at Institut Mines-Telecom Business School and at Paris Dauphine University.

Matthew is the head of business development at MTN Group, the largest telecom operator in Africa and the Middle East. Prior to joining MTN in 2015, he held various positions over 14 years as an investment banker at UBS, including as a managing director in EMEA M&A and head of investment banking for MENA (Middle East and Northern Africa) with responsibility for technology, media and telecommunications for UBS in Africa and the Middle East. Mr. Odgers is a qualified chartered accountant and studied economics at Bristol University.

John is the founder of Cavallino Capital, LLC and currently serves as its chief executive officer and chairman of the board of directors. Additionally, he is the founder, chief executive officer and chairman of the board of directors of VinAsset, Inc. He is also a member of the supervisory board at HelloFresh SE. Prior to his work with Cavallino Capital and VinAsset, Mr. Rittenhouse served as the national practice leader of operations risk management at KPMG LLP and chief logistics and operating officer at USA. John attended Rollins College (business administration, management and operations), Haslam College of Business at the University of Tennessee (Executive Master of Business Administration) and University of San Francisco at St. Patrick’s Seminary & University (theology).

Committee Composition

Audit сommittee
Compensation committee
Corporate governance & nominations committee
Gilles Bogaert
Andre T. Iguodala
Blaise Judja-Sato
Jonathan D. Klein
Angela Kaya Mwanza
Alioune Ndiaye
Matthew Odgers
John H. Rittenhouse

Governance Documents

Date Document Type Document name Download / View
April 10, 2019 PDF Code of Business Conduct and Ethics View